2007 Recap

The 2007 Perch Assault ice fishing series came to a close, with one of the best events of the series. Today, all 43 teams that entered this event caught fish, and for most, the bite was on from the minute the first lure hit the water! By noon, almost every team had 10 tournament fish in their bucket, with plenty of “eaters” on the ice too. The weather was great, the bite was on, and our hosts, Mike and Meg, at the Lake Mary Ronan lodge took great care of everyone.

For the second event in a row, Tim Shattuck and Ed Slavin, “The Perch Whackers” took the top prize, with a 10 fish bag of 6.43 pounds. They were closely followed by Rusby Seabaugh and Bob Johnson in second place with 5.76 pounds. Andy Lefevbre and Allan Woller, “The DeIcers” took 3rd with a bag weight of 5.47 pounds. Perch colored Hali jig’s with droppers were a good bet today, but just about everything was catching fish.

The season points championship was a close coming into this round, with several teams having a mathematical chance at the top three. The Perch Whackers, by virtue of their three, top three finishes, took the overall title, earning them each a set of Vexilar’s “Cold Snap” parka and bibs and a $650 championship bonus. The second place championship team of Rusby and Johnson took home a Strikemaster Strike-lite power auger and the 3rd place team of Blackford and Adkins chose the Frabill Prowler Ice House as their well deserved prize.

Overall, the three event series was a resounding success and over $12500 was paid out to the over 150 anglers that participated. Many, many companies contributed over $2500 in the prizes awarded, to include Strikemaster, Aqua-Vu, Frabill, Vexilar, Berkely, Snappy Sport Senter and more. The Perch Assault would not be possible without the generosity of our sponsors!

The Perch Assault…Montana’s hottest tournament…on ICE!!!